Lakes Area Professional Women began in June, 2009. Prior to this time, our organization was known as Alexandria Area Business and Professional Women (AABPW). Started in 1944, AABPW has a long history of being an advocate for women. The information below honors the members of AABPW who have helped shape the future of women through their courageous, brave and inspiring acts.


Past President

2016-2017     Jennifer Wegner
2015-2016     Nicole Fernholz
2014-2015     Sara Stadtherr
2013-2014     Joyce Moe
2012-2013     Jenniffer Rugani
2011-2012     Shari Maloney
2010-2011     LaTresse Snead
2009-2010     Sara Gronholz
2008-2009     Nancy Klepetka
2007-2008     Lynn Grueneich
2006-2007     Del Mari Runck
2005-2006     Irene Vagle
2004-2005     Tara Bitzan
2003-2004     Patty Wicken
2002-2003     Cindi Kortie
2001-2002     Erin Petermeier
2000-2001     Julie Blank
1999-2000     Marlene Bettin
1998-1999     Glenda Stokes
1997-1998     Terri Mogenson
1996-1997     Pat Converse
1995-1996     Lori Anderson
1994-1995     Jill Blashack
1993-1994     Sue Doege
1992-1993     Janet Thorkelson
1991-1992     Stella Bowland
1990-1991     Cindy Plaster
1989-1990     LouAnn Wewetzer
1988-1989     Joan Gilbertson
1987-1988     Stella Bowland
1986-1987     Peggy Goemer
1985-1986     Jan Esala
1984-1985     Edith Kelly
1984-1984     Nancy Fisher
1983-1984     Vicki Shoening
1982-1983     Virginia Hevern
1981-1982     Carol Anderson
1980-1981     Joanne Holl
1978-1980     Gladys Steinhorst
1976-1978     Shirley Norbeck
1974-1976     Lillian Clark
1972-1974     Marlene Lorsung
1970-1972     Judith Johnson
1968-1970     Elsie Hedeen
1966-1968     Elinor Meyer
1964-1966     Marian Reindorp
1963-1964     Irene Halstead
1961-1963     Mary Norlinger
1959-1961     Evelyn Iverson
1957-1959     Elsie Hedeen
1955-1957     Ada Larson
1953-1955     Agnes Callaghan
1951-1953     Zetta Erickson
1949-1951     Connie Siemsen
1947-1949     Cleo Sorenson
1945-1947     Irene Halstead
1944-1945     Elsie Steinke

Woman Of The Year

2016     Sue Jung
2015     Sara Stadtherr
2014     Mary Butler
2013     Shari Maloney
2012     Sara Gronholz
2011     LaTresse Snead
2010     Nancy Doebbert
2009     Katie Perry
2008     Nancy Klepetka
2007     Lynn Grueneich
2006     Debbi Rydberg
2005     Yvonne Kinney-Hockert
2004     Del Mari Runck
2003     Irene Vagle
2002     Tara Bitzan
2001     Lynette Kluver
2000     Carol Juul
1999     Deb Byers
1998     Lori Anderson
1997     Rose Virnig
1996     JoEllen Doebbert
1995     Susan Anderson
1994     Sue Weber
1993     Theresa Moberg
1992     Cindy Maanum
1991     Jill Blashack
1990     LuAnn Wewetzer
1989     Glenice Vipond
1988     Stella Bowland
1987     Jan Esala
1986     Janet Thorkelson
1985     Shirley Norbeck
1984     Nancy Fischer
1983     Jennie Hevern
1982     Edith Kelly
1981     Pearl Thorson
1980     Marlene Lorsung
1979     Carol Anderson
1978     Joanne Holl
1977     Mary Norlinger
1976     Lillian Clark
1975     Elinor Meyer
1974     Laurane Wold
1973     Agnes Callaghan
1972     Irene Halstead

Employer Of The Year Honorees

2016     Large Employer     Ecumen Bethany Community
            Small Empoyer     Creations, An Event Studio
2015     Large Employer     Elden's Fresh Foods
            Small Empoyer     Dental Health Associates
2014     Large Employer     Hampton Inn & Suites
            Small Empoyer     CliftonLarsonAllen, LLP
2013     Large Employer     Holiday Inn
            Small Employer     Narlies
2012     Large Employer     Glenwood State Bank
            Small Employer     Cherry Street Books
2011     Large Employer     State Bank and Trust
            Small Employer     Arnquist CarpetsPlus Color Tile
2010     Large Employer     Henry’s Foods
            Small Employer     Someplace Safe
2009     Large Employer     Knute Nelson
            Small Employer     Prairie Lakes Dental
2008     Large Employer     Douglas County Hospital
            Small Employer     Integrity Title
2007     Large Employer     Trumm Drug
            Small Employer     Wells Fargo - Alexandria
2006     Large Employer     Alexandria Technical College
            Small Employer     Integrated Health Center
2005     Large Employer     Alexandria Extrusion
            Small Employer     Slumberland Furniture
2004     Large Employer     Runestone Electric Association
            Small Employer     Neighborhood National Bank
2003     Large Employer     Tastefully Simple
            Small Employer     Dental Health Associates
2002     Large Employer     Ellingson Plumbing and Heating
            Small Employer     KIKV-FM
2001     Large Employer     Bethany Home
            Small Employer     Douglas County Animal Hospital
2000     Large Employer     Broadway Medical Center
            Small Employer     Social Security Office
1999     Large Employer     Cowing Robards, Inc.
            Small Employer     Alexandria Lakes Area C of C
1998     Large Employer     Vikings Saving Association
            Small Employer     Manpower
1997     Large Employer     Echo Press Newspaper
            Small Employer     Norwest Bank
1996     Employer              Vikingland Home Health
1995     Large Employer     Rural Cellular Corp
            Small Employer     Bursch Travel
1994     Large Employer     First American Bank
            Small Employer     Professional Real Estate

Upcoming Events

Monthly Meetings
Broadway Ballroom
Mar 28th 11:30 am - 1:00 pm
Monthly Meetings - 4th Wednesday each month Broadway Ballroom, Alexandria (unless otherwise noted) 11:30 a.m.-Noon - networking/lunch Noon-1:00 p.m. - program/meeting
Monthly Meetings
Apr 18th 11:30 am - 1:00 pm
The April monthly meeting has been moved up a week so that our members have the opportunity to the "Spring Luncheon". For more information about the luncheon and the guest speaker visit http://www.alexandriamn.org/luncheon.html.
Annual Scholarship Event
Gathered Oaks
Apr 20th 4:30 pm - 8:00 pm
The Spring Scholarship Fundraiser is a wonderful event that also helps LAPW raise money for member and student educational scholarships. Scholarships are awarded via Dollars for Scholars to schools in the surrounding communities included (but not limited to) Alexandria, Brandon-Evansville, Minnewaska, Osakis, Parkers Prairie, Sauk Centre and West Central Area.